Skip to product information
1 of 2

Celesta Rimington

The Elephant's Girl

The Elephant's Girl

Regular price RM37.95
Regular price RM37.95 Sale price RM37.95
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Winner of the 2020 Reading the West Book Award

A magical adventure for fans of Katherine Applegate and Jennifer Holm about a girl with a mysterious connection to the elephant who saved her life.

An elephant never forgets, but Lexington Willow can't remember her past. Swept away by a tornado as a toddler, she was dropped in a nearby Nebraska zoo, where an elephant named Nyah protected her from the storm. With no trace of her family, Lex grew up at the zoo with her foster father, Roger; her best friend, Fisher; and the wind whispering in her ear.

Years later, Nyah sends Lex a telepathic image of the woods outside the zoo. Soon, Lex is wrapped up in an adventure involving ghosts, lost treasure, and a puzzle that might be the key to finding her family. Can Lex summon the courage to discover who she really is—and why the tornado brought her here all those years ago?

"Well-rounded, often mischievous human characters ... Readers will eagerly accompany [Lex]." —Booklist

"Poignant ... An already engaging tale of life at a zoo turns into a mystery .,. [and] a bittersweet ending completes the story's magic and mystery." —Kirkus Reviews

"Skillfully paced with just the right amount of tension, this offers a thoughtful look at how our past shapes our present, and how, similarly, memory is shaped by our current circumstances." —The Bulletin

"This story of friendship includes magical realism, mystery, and adventure that is sure to capture young readers’ attention. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo." —School Library Journal

View full details