Skip to product information
1 of 2

Christian McKay Heidicker

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Regular price RM43.90
Regular price RM43.90 Sale price RM43.90
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A 2020 Newbery Honor Recipient
A Booklist 2019 Editors' Choice Selection

Christian McKay Heidicker, author of the Thieves of Weirdwood trilogy, draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship.

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow... and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

"Clever and harrowing." ―The Wall Street Journal

"Into the finest tradition of storytelling steps Christian McKay Heidicker with these highly original, bone-chilling, and ultimately heart-warming stories. All that’s needed is a blazing campfire and a delicious plate of peaches and centipedes.” ―Kathi Appelt, Newbery Award honoree and National Book Award finalist

"These tales are not for the faint of heart. And once you start, you cannot stop until you’ve reached the end... Terrifying and wonderful. A nightmare book you’ll want to return to repeatedly." ―Betsy Bird, Fuse8 Productions

“Gather around this collection of finely written stories that will raise your hackles and tingle your whiskers. But reader, beware. The dangers within this book are very real. Fortunately, so is the bravery of foxes.” ―Matthew Kirby, Edgar Award-winning author of Icefall and The Clockwork Three

View full details